Desire Mercy

Standing on a London street corner, G.K. Chesterton was approached by a newspaper reporter. “Sir, I understand that you recently became a Christian. May I ask you one question?”

“Certainly,” replied Chesterton.

“If the risen Christ suddenly appeared at this very moment and stood behind you, what would you do?”

Chesterton looked the reporter squarely in the eye and said, “He is.”

(quoted from Brennan Manning’s Abba’s Child) 

Have you ever had a day where you felt like throwing it all away?  Where efforts made in recovery felt senseless or without reward?  Recently I received some news that punched me in the gut, making me wonder if I would ever get ahead of the wreckage of my past.   Sometimes it feels like I take one step forward only to be knocked two steps back.

I called a friend who is also in recovery and we took a walk.  I…

View original post 603 more words

