THE BLOG OF DAVID ROBERTSON

Last week we began our new series on Romans – here is the first sermon.

Romans has been greatly used in the conversion of many Christians – I cited Wesley and Augustine amongst others.

This is the quote I used from Augustine:

“So was I speaking and weeping in the most bitter contrition of my heart, when, lo! I heard from a neighbouring house a voice, as of boy or girl, I know not, chanting, and oft repeating, “Take up and read; Take up and read.” Instantly, my countenance altered, I began to think most intently whether children were wont in any kind of play to sing such words: nor could I remember ever to have heard the like. So checking the torrent of my tears, I arose; interpreting it to be no other than a command from God to open the book, and read the first chapter I should…

View original post 37 more words

