ready for the road ahead

1-john-5-21

We’ve been talking about idols.  God tells us to rid ourselves of all idols.  That is the second commandment.  (Exodus 20:4-5)  For our own good, we are not to allow anything or anyone to occupy the place that rightfully belongs to Him.  We are to worship God and God alone.

Worship means I humble myself and surrender myself to something.  Almighty God is to be the sole focus of our worship.  I am to give God my highest love, my total devotion, and my ultimate loyalty.  He is the only One who deserves my highest praise.  No other person, no other object, no career, or any other thing deserves that which is deserved only by my Heavenly Father, the One who made me.

The Apostle Paul summarized what people were doing 2,000 year ago, when he said, “they exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped…

View original post 273 more words

