A Necessary Pain

I often wonder why some of us are at peace with little or much and others are dissatisfied regardless of their state. The short and simple answer is we sometimes lack contentment. Being content means that I focus less on results, likes, more, increase, and “enough”, and fix my eyes on the giver of every good gift. James 1:17 reads, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” To personify contentment, one could imagine Mr. or Miss Satisfied. This imaginary being is not seeking more, rather he or she is focused on managing, appreciating, and stewarding what they already have. When I look around, I see that sometimes I am not properly caring for what I have, yet I am asking God for MORE. Many of us quote the scripture, “I can do all…

View original post 953 more words

