A Necessary Pain

alcohol-1850201__340

“Do not look at wine when it is red, when it sparkles in the cup and goes down smoothly.” Proverbs 23:21

I had not been in recovery long when I came across this scripture. Initially, I was shocked to see so much of my reality in the bible, but then I remembered that nothing is new under the sun. Sin is not new, neither is addiction. Substance abuse is a topic in and of itself; however, this post is dedicated to our gaze. What do we look at? I’ve noticed that, when enticed, a look becomes a stare, which sends a signal to our brain that sounds something like, “I know it’s wrong, but I gotta have it!”

Disclaimer: Please do not miss my point this is not about drinking wine. I choose not to, as I do not know how to stop, but I am not here to judge…

View original post 1,225 more words

