Theology Still Matters

Over the course of my academic endeavors I have read may books on Church history.  I jump at the chance to read them, as inevitably, I come across something new that I never contemplated.  I am so infatuated with Church History that it became my focus as I completed my Master of Divinity.  I jumped at the chance to review this book because it looked to offer a fresh perspective on origins of Christianity.

The author explains the purpose of the book best when he states, “This book begins with an examination of the final week of Jesus’ life, when he makes the fateful decision to bring his message and his movement into the very heart of Jewish society:  the temple in Jerusalem.  We will then observe Jesus and his followers as they confront the political and religious leaders of their time (page xvii).”

In the introduction the author gives…

View original post 257 more words

